Police Community Volunteers are recognised at annual award ceremony
Hertfordshire Constabulary’s Police Community Volunteers were recognised for their contribution and dedication to the force at an awards ceremony held at Police Headquarters last night (Wednesday, November 6th), with the awards being presented by Police and Crime Commissioner David Lloyd and Chief Constable Andy Bliss.
The Police Community Volunteer Scheme has 300 volunteers supporting 50 teams and departments across the force. Volunteers are an important resource as they perform non-critical tasks that add value and support the activities of police officers and staff.
The volunteers have contributed a staggering 19,000 hours of volunteering time to Hertfordshire Constabulary this year alone. For the Constabulary, its
They help to free up the time of officers and staff, allowing them to focus on tasks for which their training and skills are essential.     
more followsVolunteers come from all backgrounds and walks of life and bring with them a wealth of experience and life skills, enabling the Constabulary to enhance the service it provides to the residents of Hertfordshire.
Commissioner David Lloyd launched his Volunteering Strategy during the ceremony.  The strategy actively seeks people’s views on how a range of volunteering options could be further developed to encourage even more people to consider how they can play their part in keeping the county safe. 
Commissioner Lloyd commented: “As we have seen from the inspiring stories at this award ceremony, the police are hugely aided by the direct involvement of local people prepared to volunteer during their own time to do something for the community.  I want to build on this excellent record and explore how we can draw on the skills, energy and commitment of the public to make things better.”
Chief Constable Andy Bliss, said: “It was an absolute pleasure to have the chance to thank our dedicated volunteers and volunteer advisors, and to recognise the invaluable time and commitment they contribute to the force.  The Constabulary is working hard to reduce crime, catch criminals and keep people safe. We could not hope to do this without our officers and staff and our excellent volunteers who are a vital part of the police family.”
The awards and winners included:
The Volunteering Commitment Award was awarded to John Roberts from Welwyn Garden City. This award recognises a volunteer who has contributed many hours to the scheme and has had a specific impact on the team they assist.
John is a semi-retired company director who volunteers with the Operation Manhunt team – the Constabulary’s drive against distraction burglary.  He assists the team by installing memo cams in the homes of some of the most vulnerable members of our society who have unfortunately been the victims of distraction burglaries.  The installation of a memo cam provides a great level of peace and reassurance to the victim.  The team acknowledge that without John’s continued contribution they would not be as efficient. 
Volunteer Team of the Year 2013 - This award recognises the contribution of a team as a whole and was awarded to The Special Constabulary Volunteer Support Team.  
This team is an extraordinary team of volunteers who give up their free time and support, usually outside of office hours to the force’s Special Constabulary. Several of them work full-time themselves and also undertake other volunteering tasks within the Constabulary.  They organise and support meetings, help to run the duty system, manage spread sheets and many other tasks.  They are now an integral part of the smooth and efficient running of the Special Constabulary in Hertfordshire. 
The team includes: Debs Blissett, Kimm Stuart, Bob Cox, Rosemary Newman, Jacky Stafford, Anne Griffiths, Anita Barry and Jean Starkey. 
Volunteer Advisor of the Year - This award recognises volunteer advisors who have made a particular effort in ensuring volunteers feel welcome, part of the organisation and have appropriate and interesting work to do. This award went to Watford Safer Neighbourhood Team Inspector Deirdre Dent.